Will we see the 23rd 20-win pitcher of all time this season?

It’s the dream 20 wins. And those 20 wins will get you to the postseason. Eric Peddie has proven it again.

In the KBO’s 42-year history, 18 pitchers have won 20 games 22 times. Former manager Sun Dong-yeol holds the record with three 20-win seasons in 1986 (24), 1989 (21), and 1990 (22), followed by Kim Si-jin in 1985 (25) and 1987 (24), and the late Choi Dong-won in 1984 (27) and 1985 (20).

The Doosan Bears are the team with the most 20-win pitchers. After Park Chul-soon became the first 20-win pitcher when he won 24 games for the OB Bears in 1982, 바카라사이트 the first year of the KBO, it was 25 years before Daniel Rios won 22 games in 2007. Since then, foreign aces such as Dustin Nippert (22 wins in 2016), Josh Lindblom (20 wins in 2019), and Raul Alcantara (20 wins in 2020) have reached the 20-win plateau.

The KIA Tigers have had four different 20-win pitchers six times, including during the Hattae era. In 1983, Lee Sang-yoon won 20 games, followed by Sun Jeon three times. Then in 2017, Yang Hyun-jong and Hector Noesi won 20 games back-to-back.

Samsung had two by Kim and one by Kim Il-young in 1985.

Lotte’s last two wins came under Choi. They have zero wins. Both are original teams and have not produced a 20-win pitcher since the 1990s. The LG Twins had their only 20-win season in 1995 with Lee Sang-hoon, and the Kiwoom Heroes had their first and last 20-win season in 2014 with Andy VanHecken.

NC became the first team to produce a 20-win pitcher when Pedi posted 20 wins last year.

The Hanwha Eagles, SSG Landers, and KT Wiz have yet to produce a 20-win pitcher.

Since the 2000s, there have been eight 20-win pitchers, with only Yang Hyun-jong being a Korean and the other seven being foreigners.

The teams that have produced 20-win pitchers have also been good that year. Starting with OB in 1982, they won the title nine times – 1983 (HaeTae), 1984 (Lotte), 1985 (Samsung), 1986 (HaeTae), 1989 (HaeTae), 2016 (Doosan), 2017 (KIA), and 2019 (Doosan) – and almost all of the others made the postseason.

The last time a team with a 20-win pitcher failed to reach the postseason was the Hyundai Unicorns in 1999. Back then, Jung Min-tae won 20 games, but the team finished third in the Dream League with 68 wins, 5 losses, and 59 draws and missed the playoffs.

Last year, NC was also a pre-season favorite due to a number of power leaks, but led by 20-win pitcher Pedi, 토토사이트 순위 the team finished fourth and made the postseason, going undefeated in the wild-card decider and semi-playoffs.

Being a winning pitcher isn’t just about pitching well. The hitters have to score runs to win, and the bullpen has to protect that lead. It’s about having the power.